mmmm chocolate.. will have to share

okay, who doesnt love chocolate? I have to admit is is one of my two major vices in life and takes the shine out of any diet I attempt….. but its good for you isnt it?

Check out Sarah’s new blog at http://www.ifonlyihadchocolate.blogspot.com/ She has finally joined the ranks of blogging….hi Sarah.

We are very fortunate (or perhaps not) to live in the same town as the main Cadbury Chocolate factory. Now anyone who has ever visited Tasmania has visited the Chocolate factory. Unfortunately they have currently closed down their factory and tasting tours.

So for todays block I thought we could share chocolate recipes. Leave your favourite in a blog comment and I will choose the best one for a little suprise gift – its a suprise cos I dont know what it will be yet, but I can sure find something fantastic for the winner. Mention this giveaway on your blog and leave your recipe here by Friday of this week.

Now to my recipe:

from my Christmas Truffles book:

Double choc orange balls

250g/80z crushed sweet biscuits (graham crackers)

3/4cup desiccated coconut

4 tablespoons cocoa

395g/14oz can sweetened condensed milk

2 tablespoons Grand Marnier or orange liqueur

extra coconut or chocolate shavings for rolling in.

Mix all ingredients. refridgerate until firm. Shape in to balls, roll in coconut or chocolate shavings. Refridgerate.

hugs, Helen

Published in: on June 30, 2008 at 7:29 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://npnt.wordpress.com/2008/06/30/mmmm-chocolate-will-have-to-share/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good afternoon,
    I have just finished reading my homespun magazine, and boy oh boy have I fallen in love with your quilt. I am on holidays and i am spending every spare moment, looking for something new to sew, I have not had a chance to sew during the past term (it was hectic). It is gorgeous and I love the fabric, i can’t wait to get paid so I can begin to purchase the Block of the Month.
    So anyway… Chocolate huh… well let me think.. a fantastic recipe… it would have to be for brownies.
    The Recipe
    250g Unsalted butter, 200g 70% cocoa chocolate,
    150g chopped nuts, 80g cocoa powder (I use an organic cocoa, from health food store – much more fresh and delicious, 65g plain flour, 1teaspoon baking powder, 350g caster sugar, 4 large eggs – fresh from my chooks.
    In saucepan over low heat melt butter and choc when smooth add nuts. Add all other ingredients – except for eggs. Beat the eggs and then add them. Beat until the mix is silky.
    Pour into a greased slice tray and bake in a 180 degree oven for 25 minutes.
    These are to die for!
    Cheers, have a great afternoon
    Jayne Farrell

  2. I have followed so many links from other bloggers, that I have forgotten how I got here, but am so glad I did. Your NPNT block of the month is beautiful! I am going to search for where I can find the patterns!!!!!! I would love to win whatever goodies you are offering. Will it be a stitchery pattern? I hope!
    Here is a not very fancy chocolate recipe, but I love it. Dip strawberries in it, pour it on ice cream, eat it by the spoonsful! Yummy.
    HERSHEY’S HOT FUDGE SAUCE

    3/4 c Sugar
    1/3 c Light corn syrup
    1/2 c Hershey’s cocoa
    1/3 c Butter
    5 oz Evaporated milk (not sweetened)
    1 t Vanilla

    Combine sugar and cocoa in small saucepan; blend in
    evaporated milk and corn syrup. Cook over medium
    heat, stirring constantly, until mixture boils; boil
    and stir one minute. Remove from heat; stir in butter
    and vanilla. Serve warm.
    Makes 2 1/2 cups
    Now I must go look at more of your blog
    TTFN……….Lilly

  3. My Fav chocolate recipe is go to Big W buy large block (Cup & a half) of cadburys take home,sit in recliner next to computer,log on,find interesting blogs,surf & eat chocolate, you can share with family but this is optional.

  4. Yep, me too Claire!
    So Helen, dare we ask, what’s the other vice?!

  5. mmm, nothing exciting and nothing good for me but being ‘free’ on weight watchers for all those years, it is a daily dose of diet coke…. arggghhh. I know, its so bad.
    H

  6. Yeah, that’s my vice too – for the same reason!!


Leave a Reply

