Roses

Roses would have to be my favourite flower. I love them all. I am so lucky now in Tasmania to be able to have a few prized bushes in my little garden. My mother, however has over 500 of them in hers. I have included a few photos for you. If you are ever travelling in country South Australia to a little town called Penola, call in and say hi to them – they love to show people the garden they work so hard in. It really is beautiful and so peaceful. They have just had 100 ‘roving rosaliers’ visiting on the weekend…

Roses

rose-view.jpg

rose9.jpg

rose7.jpg

rose2.jpg

buds.jpg

rose1.jpg

Roses have forever been used in every form of embroidery. From white work, candlewicking, shadow work, bullion embroiery, ribbon embroidery, applique, stitchery, many international styles of hand work – roses are the most popular flower design used. I just LOOOOOVE them cant you tell?

take time to smell the roses today..

hugs, Helen

Published in: on March 12, 2008 at 7:48 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://npnt.wordpress.com/2008/03/12/roses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi Helen,
    I love your roses. I to love roses and have a photo of my favourite yellow rose on my blog. I also have photos of a couple of my stitcheries from NPNT on my blog as well. Will try and copy them to you blog here when i have time, LOL,
    Cathy:0)


Leave a Reply

